Sports Today is April 28th, 2017|Hudson Valley Press - More Than News |Bookmark HVPress!

June 13th, 2012

NFA Varsity Crew Team wins team title for 14th straight year

The NFA Boys Varsity Crew Team finished in second place at Sectionals on Saturday, June 2, 2012.
Newburgh - On Saturday, June 2, 2012 the NFA Varsity Crew Team marked the 14th year in a row that NFA has won either the boys or girls team title of the Hudson Valley Rowing League.

The NFA Girls Varsity Crew Team tied for first place in the Class A Division, sharing the honor with the Wappingers Crew Team. The NFA boys team finished in second place. All the teams performed well considering they faced dense fog, driving rain and tumultuous water conditions.

“The fact that no one tipped over in those weather conditions is a testament to the physical and mental conditioning of all the rowers,” said Coach Ed Kennedy.
Kennedy also acknowledged that the 72-member NFA Crew Team has been eliminated by the Newburgh Board of Education as of the 2012-2013 school year, after 22 years of championship rowing.

“Our kids won a championship for the 14th year in a row and finished their season 7-0 under conditions that would bring most adults to their knees,” said Kennedy. “The parents and the Board of Ed are working together to try to find a place for the varsity crew team at NFA. I am confident that if it was meant to be, then the Varsity crew team will row again.”

The girls team won the both the 4x event and the Light 4x event. The Girls 4x was: Maddy Dill, Amanda McKnight, Gabby Ramos, Bryanna LeBron, and Courtney Irwin (coxswain). The Light 4x included Ruby Melendez, Yarrow Starbeck, Becca Hayen, Gabbi Napolitano, and Kyra Bottali.

The girls 8x placed 3rd, and was made up of Jessie Dennis, Steff Sciolaro, Girls Team Captain Aliya Levinstein, Lea Stepakoff, Kerry Kennedy, Amanda Perez, Erin Lougran, and Larrissa Sheridan (coxswain).

The boys team achieved the same finish as the girls. The champion boys 4x was made up of Mike Terralavoro, Toussant Helm, Anthony Antonelli, Frank Maurice, and Tyler Jury (coxswain). The champion boys Light 4x, was: Victor Santiago, Dante Davis, Allan Murillo, Ian Mullarkey, and Davante Davis (coxswain); the Boys 8x was made up of Team Co-Captains Casey Baker and Steve Shaffer, Kyle Britton, Nick Illenberger, Matt Weresbe, Nick Bourne, Eric Motley, Jr., Carlos Carbrera, and Johnny Kennedy.

Conner Schafer placed 3rd in the single and the girls’ quad placed 2nd and was made up of Brianna Schafer, Tyler Trifolo, Ilci Velarde, and Alexandra Rimac.
On the Newburgh Rowing Club side, Matt Scholl placed first in the Men’s 1x, finishing well ahead of the competition.

Copyright 2006-2016 The Hudson Valley Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

              Let Your Voice Be Heard ... Fill Out the Reader Response Form Below
Your name:
Your email:
Article Title:
Comment Text:

*Posts do not appear immediately


Are you planning a summer vacation this year?
Not sure



HEADLINES | Copyright © 2006-2016 Hudson Valley Press. All rights reserved. | Use of this site indicates your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy for our Site. |